Acoustic Analysis

• Last Post 05 June 2019
  • Topic Is Solved
hhusker posted this 15 May 2019

Hi,

I am conducting an experiment using the impedance tube,and would like to simulate for transmission loss.I am quite new to ansys.I used harmonic response for the transmission loss. My problem is i have to simulate three conditions,where two of them have pre-stressed or moving components while I conduct transmission loss experiment. I was wondering how I can simulate this as combining both systems doesn't seem to work as I cant give the air gap inside as acoustic body. Any help would be much appreciated.

Hhusker

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
peteroznewman posted this 15 May 2019

Please reply with a sketch or screen snapshot of the components in this system. Identify which are the pre-stressed or moving components.  Identify the air gap. Which version of ANSYS are you using?  One of the members here jj77, has some background in acoustics and might have a comment.

hhusker posted this 16 May 2019

I am using Ansys 19.1,I also have the extension. I initially planned to excite the structure by air pressure ,but will soon turn to other means. I wanted to know how I can prestress it and run analysis. I was planning to apply pressure force on the second image just for a general idea. Your Input is much appreciated.

The selected part ,that is the gap in the part is air. I have also made an inlet and outlet port on either side. That I also gave as an acoustic body.This is the structure inside that i want to manipulate by applying air pressure.

peteroznewman posted this 17 May 2019

You say you want to simulate having these solids and airspace (green) in an impedance tube.

Please annotate a screen image to show the face that receives the input plane wave and I assume the opposite face emits the sound that can be measured to calculate the transmission loss.