ANSYS License Manager Error

• 3.3K Views
  • Last Post 03 December 2018
stevenkwan18 posted this 25 August 2018

I am a student, I currently just installed ANSYS 19.1 Student version and after installation, I am having a problem when starting Fluent in Setup. This message appears:

ANSYS LICENSE MANAGER ERROR:ANSYSLI exited or could not read server port ANSYSLI_DEMO_PORT.

Anyone has encountered the same issue?

I need help please

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
tsiriaks posted this 27 August 2018

Hello stevenkwan18,

Have you tried the suggestions from this post ?

https://studentcommunity.ansys.com/thread/workbench-error-3/?order=all#comment-99282690-f583-4eb6-8cd7-a94201170e43

Let us know how it goes.

Thank you,

Win

jackhero posted this 25 November 2018

I installed Ansys 19.2 (student version) on my system and also facing this issue. I followed the instructions given at this link but didn't work. Any other suggestion on solving this issue.

In addition, I would like to ask is this issue somehow related with the Design Modeler in Ansys Workbench? I am trying to open the DM but is not opening.

tsiriaks posted this 26 November 2018

Hi jackhero,

Can you ping your own hostname ?

Let's focus on this licensing issue first and see if it also fixes your issue with DM.

Thanks,

Win

jackhero posted this 28 November 2018

Yes, I can ping my own hostname without any loss.

tsiriaks posted this 28 November 2018

Hi jackhero,

Try open %appdata%\ansys\ANSYSLI_DEMO_PORT with any text editor app like notepad, etc (don't use this app with 'run as admin'). Then, do some modification to the file and see if you can save it.

If that doesn't help, open CMD Prompt and type the followings

set t

and

set appdata

then post the output of each command here

Thanks,

Win

• Liked by
  • jackhero
jackhero posted this 29 November 2018

Thank you for your reply.