Convergence Solution

• Last Post 30 March 2020
HCR_student posted this 17 March 2020

Hello everyone, I am facing a problem with the convergence graph. 

Before, I ran 300 iterations for my solution and I was unable to reach convergence. This is the graph I have achieved.

After that, I ran 850 iterations and reached convergence. The graph is as shown below.

I observed that there is a big spike at around 400~500 iterations. I am not so sure about convergence as I am still a beginner at ANSYS Fluent. I am not sure if there is a problem with this graph and if my convergence is correct or wrong. 

Please help!

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
kkanade posted this 30 March 2020

i suggest you use tri mesh with prisms. 

please go through meshing methods 

Regards,

Keyur

If this helps, please mark this post as 'Is Solution' to help others.

Guidelines on the Student Community

How to access ANSYS help links

HCR_student posted this 27 March 2020

Hi, I have created a section view of a window frame by referencing to a picture model and there were chamfered edges hence I chamfered those corners. 

I am doing a CFD and FEA thermal model of this window frame. In the model above, the window frame has air "solids" to study the effect of the inclusion of air in thermal transfer. 

Just to clarify some more, for CFD, you have mentioned that hex dominant should never be used for CFD and so I used Multizone method and selected the prism setting instead.

For FEA, even though the analysis is the same as CFD and it is going through a "fluid" (air "solids"), is it wrong to use multizone method with hexa setting? The reason I am choosing hexa setting is because it gives a better mesh compared to the prism setting. 

Thank you so much for your help!

kkanade posted this 27 March 2020

Please see help documentation to get more information about meshing methods. 

Regards,

Keyur

• Liked by
  • HCR_student
rwoolhou posted this 26 March 2020