Modeling bearing between 2 disks

• Last Post 03 November 2019
  • Topic Is Solved
pouryatorabi posted this 01 November 2019

Hi everyone

I'm a mechanical engineer but I studied the field of control, now I need to analyse a design using ansys and have a lot of problem, But the biggest one is that I don't know how to model a bearing between 2 surfaces.

Consider I have 2 disks and they are connected with a cross roller bearing, I should I model this? should I model the bearing with a common disk and make friction contacts? And should I define the bearing as a rigid body?

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
peteroznewman posted this 01 November 2019

What answers do you want from the ANSYS model?

Depending on the level of local detail around the bearing you need, you might model the races of the bearing and have contact between the race and the bearing seat face on each disk. If you don't need much local detail, but just need the two disks to rotate relative to one another, you can connect the disks with a revolute joint scoped to bearing seat faces on each disk.

Bearings generally have low friction. Is friction important? 

pouryatorabi posted this 02 November 2019

I just want a static analysis, This is what I have:

The red one is a bearing, a cross roller bearing, I modeled it as a flexible disk and assigned steel material, but since it is flexible, it deforms and produce too much stress. I just don't know how to solve this model.

peteroznewman posted this 02 November 2019

A solid red ring of steel would have higher stiffness than a cross roller bearing.

Are you using bonded contact to glue all the parts together?  That is a simple model that gives a quick result. The accuracy can be improved by adding more complexity to the model such as frictional contact and bolt pretension.