Non-zero exit code while simulating Compressor flow

  • 144 Views
  • Last Post 3 weeks ago
lizm posted this 23 July 2018

I have been getting a non-zero exit code : 2 when I try to run CFX solution. I used Ansys 15.0 tutorial on centrifugal compressor. What could be the problem? The mesh and set-up have updated but when it comes to solution it gives me the error.

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
abenhadj posted this 23 July 2018

Hi, 

Can you carry out the tutorial on centrifugal pump once again? Perhaps you missed a thing. For the CFX Tutorials, you can play a *.pre session in order to end up with the finalized settings.

A.

Best regards,

Amine

lizm posted this 24 July 2018

Thank you, let me try it.

lizm posted this 01 August 2018

@abenhadj, I re-did the centrifugal compressor tutorial and still ended up with the error. 

My procedure was as follows:

I used Vista CCD to design the compressor; it had 24 blades and the inlet temp was 298. I kept the other values at default. I transfered the information from Vista CCD to BladeGen. I had already un-selected Merge Blade Topology and Create Fluid Zones. in the mesh, the Topology set did not have  H/J/C/L grid topology, so I continued with the other changes. In Mechanical Model, the default settings of physical references remained. I defined the virtual topology and control methods. In CFX, I configured the basic setting to Centrifugal compressor and followed the instructions given.  On running the solution, I got the error.

I do not know where I am going wrong.

abenhadj posted this 01 August 2018

On which tutorial are you working? The tutorial I was actually referencing is "Aerodynamic and Structural Performance of a

Centrifugal Compressor" 

Best regards,

Amine

lizm posted this 01 August 2018

I was working on that one.

I have been experiencing the error even when using fluent and CFX. I am working on centrifugal compressor flow and was using the tutorial as a guide. in fluent, I had used Vista CCD, kept the default settings in duty and aerodynamic data but changed the geometry to vaneless, and main blades to 7 without splitter. In the set-up, I select steady-state, energy model with viscous model SST. The material that I use is Air. For CFX, I input 1 bar as inlet pressure with a mass flow of 0.6kg/s.

i honestly do not know where I am going wrong.

abenhadj posted this 01 August 2018

Please elaborate a bit on the issue: Are you experiencing problems with the tutorial itself?

Best regards,

Amine

lizm posted this 01 August 2018

Yes, I am having a problem with the tutorial. I cannot pin point where the error is arising from. 

abenhadj posted this 01 August 2018

At which stage?

Best regards,

Amine

lizm posted this 01 August 2018

The solution part in CFX. I am not able to pin point the source of non-zero exit code:2.

abenhadj posted this 01 August 2018

Does the error occur immediately? 

Best regards,

Amine

lizm posted this 01 August 2018

At the solution stage in CFX. 

lizm posted this 02 August 2018

It does not occur immediately. It starts to solve then after some seconds it stops and gives a message of the error.

abenhadj posted this 02 August 2018

Can you past some relevant lines from the out file before the error message is printed out? Are there any error messages written in the out file?

Best regards,

Amine

lizm posted this 02 August 2018

 ======================================================================

 OUTER LOOP ITERATION =    3                    CPU SECONDS = 4.657E+01

 ----------------------------------------------------------------------

 |       Equation       | Rate | RMS Res | Max Res |  Linear Solution |

 +----------------------+------+---------+---------+------------------+

 | U-Mom                |99.99 | 2.3E-03 | 1.9E-01 |       3.4E-04  OK|

 | V-Mom                |99.99 | 4.4E-03 | 3.9E-01 |       2.6E-04  OK|

 | W-Mom                |99.99 | 2.6E-04 | 3.7E-02 |       6.5E-03  OK|

 | P-Mass               |40.89 | 1.4E-08 | 6.1E-06 |  9.3  3.6E+00  F |

 +----------------------+------+---------+---------+------------------+

 | H-Energy             | 1.20 | 3.1E-03 | 7.5E-01 |  5.9  3.5E-02  OK|

 +----------------------+------+---------+---------+------------------+

 | K-TurbKE             | 0.72 | 2.6E-03 | 5.8E-01 |  5.9  1.7E-02  OK|

 | E-Diss.K             | 0.55 | 4.2E-03 | 1.0E+00 | 45.9  4.1E-09  OK|

 +----------------------+------+---------+---------+------------------+

 +--------------------------------------------------------------------+

 | Notice: The maximum Mach number is  3.108E+04.                     |

 +--------------------------------------------------------------------+

 

 ======================================================================

 OUTER LOOP ITERATION =    4                    CPU SECONDS = 6.725E+01

 ----------------------------------------------------------------------

 |       Equation       | Rate | RMS Res | Max Res |  Linear Solution |

 +----------------------+------+---------+---------+------------------+

 

 +--------------------------------------------------------------------+

 | ERROR #004100018 has occurred in subroutine FINMES.                |

 | Message:                                                           |

 | Fatal overflow in linear solver.                                   |

 +--------------------------------------------------------------------+

 

 +--------------------------------------------------------------------+

 |                An error has occurred in cfx5solve:                 |

 |                                                                    |

 | The ANSYS CFX solver exited with return code 1.   No results file  |

 | has been created.                                                  |

 +--------------------------------------------------------------------+

 

End of solution stage.

 

 +--------------------------------------------------------------------+

 | The following user files have been saved in the directory          |

 | DTHESIS/Compressor_pending/dp0_CFX_Solution/CFX_002:             |

 |                                                                    |

 | mon                                                                |

 +--------------------------------------------------------------------+

 

 

 +--------------------------------------------------------------------+

 | For CFX runs launched from Workbench, the final locations of       |

 | directories and files generated may differ from those shown.       |

 +--------------------------------------------------------------------+

 

 

This run of the ANSYS CFX Solver has finished.

abenhadj posted this 03 August 2018

Please double check the settings and go through the tutorial one more. I have done the tutorial but only the CFX part without Mechanical and It is working for me. 

Best regards,

Amine

lizm posted this 04 August 2018

How do I check the setting? Where do I go?

abenhadj posted this 06 August 2018

First of all you work only on the CFX component disregard the Mechanical part. Just create the interfaces in CFX and include the interface for the internal GGI inerface (tip). You can just connect the CFX to Turbo Grid and work then this out.

Best regards,

Amine

lizm posted this 06 August 2018

Could you please elaborate more on the GGI  inerface (tip)?

abenhadj posted this 07 August 2018

Here the interfaces I have 

 

and here the internal interface which connects the shroud tip sides (created in TurboGrid)

 

 

Best regards,

Amine

lizm posted this 18 September 2018

Hi,

I started simulation again and it worked for one day. the next day I tried simulating the same conditions I got the following error:

 OUTER LOOP ITERATION =    7                    CPU SECONDS = 7.014E+01

 ----------------------------------------------------------------------

 |       Equation       | Rate | RMS Res | Max Res |  Linear Solution |

 +----------------------+------+---------+---------+------------------+

 

 +--------------------------------------------------------------------+

 | ERROR #001100279 has occurred in subroutine ErrAction.             |

 | Message:                                                           |

 | Floating point exception: Overflow                                 |

 |                                                                    |

 |                                                                    |

 |                                                                    |

 |                                                                    |

 |                                                                    |

 +--------------------------------------------------------------------+

 

 +--------------------------------------------------------------------+

 | ERROR #001100279 has occurred in subroutine ErrAction.             |

 | Message:                                                           |

 | Stopped in routine FPX: C_FPX_HANDLER                            

lizm posted this 18 September 2018

Is it a computer problem or ....

lizm posted this 18 September 2018

 ERROR #001100279 has occurred in subroutine ErrAction.             |

 | Message:                                                           |

 | Floating point exception: Overflow                                 |

 |                                                                    |

 |                                                                    |

 |                                                                    |

 |                                                                    |

 |                                                                    |

 +--------------------------------------------------------------------+

 

 +--------------------------------------------------------------------+

 | ERROR #001100279 has occurred in subroutine ErrAction.             |

 | Message:                                                           |

 | Stopped in routine FPX: C_FPX_HANDLER           

Surya posted this 19 September 2018

Hi,

Are you using Double Precision as Solver Settings?

If not, then could you please try using DP?

Regards,

 

 

 

 

anmehta posted this 20 September 2018

HI ,

    Just went through all the conversation and i would like to share some points to check on set up . 

 You are getting errors such as fatal overflow in linear solver or Overflow error even notification of max mach number going too high . These all errors can be generated due to

a) improper initialization (Kindly check the reference pressure values in domain settings - units we are using ) - this may lead to unrealistic values of mass flow and properties in first few iterations only .  Check if we need to provide domain initialization values of pressure . 

b)floating point overflow error can be due to memory requirement for the job to run on available RAM machine . In CFX solver manager --> you can slightly increase memory allocation factor from default 1 to 1.2 or 1.4 in solver as shown below . This will increase the memory allocation for this job by 1.2 times .

I hope this will help . 

 

 

lizm posted this 20 September 2018

@Surya the double precision is still bringing an error.

lizm posted this 20 September 2018

@anmehta, I increased the memory allocation factor to 1.4. The error changed to as below:

 ERROR #004100018 has occurred in subroutine FINMES.                |

 | Message:                                                           |

 | Fatal overflow in linear solver.                                   |

 +--------------------------------------------------------------------+

 

 +--------------------------------------------------------------------+

 |                An error has occurred in cfx5solve:                 |

 |                                                                    |

 | The ANSYS CFX solver exited with return code 1.   No results file  |

 | has been created.                                                  |

lizm posted this 20 September 2018

I have been working on the conditions and so far the iterations have increased.

anmehta posted this 4 weeks ago

HI ,

 You can check the point a) shared on initialization. You can also check the units of the reference pressure specified . 

  If you are running compressor case with very high value of rotation , i would prefer you to give some ramp up of RPM value . 

 

Regards,

Anup Mehta  

lizm posted this 4 weeks ago

What is the purpose of the reference pressure?

lizm posted this 3 weeks ago

 ERROR #001100279 has occurred in subroutine ErrAction.             |

 | Message:                                                           |

 | SYMASS_CS_ELIM : The solver ran out of temporary space while buil- |

 | ding a linked list for a domain.  Try setting the expert paramete- |

 | r "topology estimate factor" to a value greater than 1.0.  Values  |

 | higher than 1.2 should not be necessary.

Show More Posts
Close